Capitol Furnishings
About CFP Committee

The Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee was formed in 1999 by statute “to promote and encourage the recovery and preservation of the original and historic furnishings of the state capitol group” as envisioned by architects Wilder and White. The Capitol Group includes the Legislative Building, Insurance Building, Temple of Justice, John A. Cherberg Building, John L. O'Brien Building and Irving Newhouse Building.

The Committee is charged with raising awareness to help prevent future loss of historic furnishings, funding the restoration of certain furnishings and reviewing and advising future remodeling and restoration projects as they pertain to historic furnishings. The Committee coordinates its work with commissions, committees and tenant groups of the Capitol Group regarding the creation of a preservation plan for the furniture, fixtures, and artwork of the Capitol buildings. While the Committee's authority does not extend to the placement of historic furnishings, Committee members conduct research and make available information on original Wilder and White designs. The committee has also published a book about the state capitol group of buildings and it's furnishings titled Exploring Washington's Majestic State Capitol.

The Committee helps identify and actively searches for lost furnishings. The Committee helps fund restoration and preservation of furnishings employing best practices adopted by conservationists.

The Committee provides educational information about the original and historic furnishings to Capitol Group tenants and visitors.

The Committee engages in fundraising and can accept charitable gifts, grants and donations to help with the recovery and restoration of historic furnishings.

Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee (CFPC) Membership, 10/01/2013

Steve Lindstrom, citizen appointed by Governor, Chair
Dean Foster, citizen appointed by Governor, Vice-Chair
Norma Bauer, citizen appointed by Governor, Secretary
Shanna Stevenson, representing the State Historical Society, Treasurer

Rep. Norm Johnson, House Republican Caucus
Rep. Jim Moeller, House Democrat Caucus
Sen. Karen Keiser, Senate Democrat Caucus
Sen. Jim Honeyford, Senate Republican Caucus
Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk, Patty Moore, designee
Hunter Goodman, Secretary of the Senate, Paul Campos, designee
Vacant, Governor's Designee
Ken Camp, Lt. Governor's Designee
Stephanie Horn, Secretary of State designee
Tammy Risner, State Treasurer designee
Diane Perry & Matt Miller, State Auditor designees
Kathy Marshall, representing the Office of the Insurance Commissioner
Justice Charles Wiggins, representing the State Supreme Court
Allen Miller, representing the Thurston Regional Planning Council
Marygrace Jennings, representing the Department of Enterprise Services