Legislative Internship Program

2 Intern Logo Horizontal GoldGreen.png    

Home     Apply     School Policies     Syllabus     FAQs     Intern Voices     Contact



School Contacts and Application Policies

The Legislative Internship must be completed for academic credit at a four-year college or university.  Before applying, all students must arrange for a faculty member to oversee their academic credit for the internship (the faculty sponsor is usually the professor of record on the intern's transcript).  Applicants must provide the name and contact information of their faculty sponsor on the application form. 

Some schools have additional pre-application steps to be completed with the career office or campus coordinator.  Campus contacts for most schools in Washington are listed below.  If you attend a school that is not on this list, contact your career or internship office and talk to your advisor to identify a faculty sponsor and make sure you can receive credit before you apply.


Central Washington University - Des Moines

Steve Laing
Career Counselor, Career Services
 

(206) 439-3800 ext. 3841

steve.laing@cwu.edu

 Students are encouraged to meet with Career Services and their advisor prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor.

 

Central Washington University - Ellensburg

JoAnn Ryan
Internship Coordinator, Cooperative Education
(509) 963-2405
ryanjo@cwu.edu

Professor Todd Schaefer
Department of Political Science

(509) 963-3675

schaefet@cwu.edu
 

Students are encouraged to meet with JoAnn Ryan and their advisor prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor. 


Central Washington University - Lynnwood

Merridy Rennick
Career Counselor
(425) 640-1574  X 3878
RennickM@cwu.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with Merridy Rennick and their advisor prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor. 


Eastern Washington University

Romeal Watson
Internship Coordinator
(509) 359-4637

rjwatson@ewu.edu

Kevin Pirch
Government Department
(509) 359-2413

kpirch@ewu.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with Romeal Watson and their advisor prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor.

 

The Evergreen State College - Olympia Campus

Emily Gray
Internship Advisor & Coordinator
(360) 867-6048
graye@evergreen.edu

Evergreen Olympia students must have completed one year of interdisciplinary study, with at least 16 credits of curriculum at the Olympia campus. Students are encouraged to meet with Emily Gray to learn more about the program, review the application process and materials, and sign up for small group mock interviews. Dr. Kathy Kelly is the designated faculty sponsor for all Evergreen students. 


The Evergreen State College - Tacoma Campus

Vicky Buford
Student Services Coordinator
(253) 680-3005
bufordv@evergreen.edu

Professor Tyrus Smith
(253) 680-3035 
smitht@evergreen.edu

Tacoma program students must complete two quarters of studies at the Tacoma campus before qualifying for this internship. Students should meet with Vicky Buford and/or Dr. Tyrus Smith prior to applying. Dr. Kathy Kelly is the designated faculty sponsor for all Evergreen students. 

 

Heritage University

Melissa Hill 
Vice President of Student Affairs 
(509) 865-0411 
Hill_M@heritage.edu

Students must meet with Melissa and the Career Services office prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor.


Gonzaga University

Professor Cindy Stavrianos
Associate Professor of Political Science & Chair of Women's and Gender Studies
(509) 313-5845      
stavrianos@gonzaga.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with the Career Center prior to applying. Students are responsible for securing their own faculty sponsor.


Pacific Lutheran University

Ellie Schappler
Assistant Director for Career & Experiential Learning
(253) 535-7324

schapplere@plu.edu or intern@plu.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with Elli Schappler in the office of Alumni & Student Connections prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor.  The Academic Internships Office provides support for students working on applications and interviews. 


St. Martin's University

Professor Alexis Walker       
Political Science Department
(360) 438-4385
awalker@stmartin.edu

Ann Adams
Career Services
(360) 486-8842
aadams@stmartin.edu

Interested students from any department should meet with Dr. Walker to discuss the internship.  Students outside the political science department must also meet with their faculty advisor to meet department requirements (class standing, etc.) and secure a faculty sponsor.  The Career Center provides support for application and interviews and can help with referrals to faculty.


Seattle Pacific University

Lori Brown
Center for Career and Calling, Assistant Director
(206) 281-2493
lori.brown@spu.edu 

Students are encouraged to meet with the Career Development Center and their advisor prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor. 


Seattle University

Dr. Patrick Schoettmer
(206) 296-5460
schoettp@seattleu.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with Career Services and their advisor prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor.


University of Puget Sound

Rebecca Pettitt
Internship Coordinator
(253) 879-3161
rpettitt@pugetsound.edu

Robin Jacobson
Professor, Politics & Government
(253) 879-3177     Wyatt Hall 220
rjacobson@pugetsound.edu

Students must meet with the CES Internship Coordinator prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor. 


University of Washington - Bothell

Dakota Bennett
Career and Intern Specialist                                                              
Career Services                                                                         
(425) 352-34695092

dakota3@uw.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with Dakota Bennett in Career Services prior to applying to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor. 


University of Washington - Seattle

Mark Weitzenkamp
Academic Counselor, Political Science Academic Advising
(206) 543-1824
weitzen@uw.edu

Students are encouraged to meet with Mark Weitzenkamp prior to applying. Chelsea Moore, PhC., is the designated faculty sponsor for all students from UW - Seattle.


University of Washington - Tacoma

Professor Katie Baird
(253) 692-5854
kebaird@uw.edu

Internship course information is available on UWT's website.  Professor Katie Baird is the designated faculty sponsor for all students from UW-Tacoma.


Walla Walla University

David Lindstrom
Director, Student Development Center
(509) 527-2664
david.lindstrom@wallawalla.edu

Requirements and credits vary by department. Students should talk with their advisor and meet with David Lindstrom at the Career Center to prepare their application and arrange to receive credit for the internship. Students are responsible for securing their own faculty sponsor.


Washington State University

Richard Elgar 
Internship Coordinator, Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy 
(509) 335-3477 
relgar@wsu.edu

Internship policies are available on the Foley Institute's website. All students, regardless of major, must enroll for at least three internship credits in Political Science through the Foley Institute.  Students interested in the internship must review their application materials with Richard Elgar and have them approved prior to submitting. 

Criminal Justice students should also contact academic advisor Sisouvanh Keopanapay to discuss credit options and expectations. 


Washington State University - Vancouver

Erin Leverman 
Internship Coordinator 
(360) 456-9451
erin.leverman@wsu.edu

Students should meet with Erin Leverman to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor.


Western Washington University

Erica Steele
Political Science Department
(360) 650-3469
erica.steele@wwu.edu

Professor Todd Donovan
Political Science Department
(360) 650-3018
todd.donovan@wwu.edu

Students majoring in any discipline with at least junior standing (89 credits completed) can apply for the Legislative Internship program.  Interested students are encouraged to meet with their advisors. Professor Todd Donovan is the designated faculty sponsor for WWU students. More information about Western Washington University requirements is available on the Political Science department website.


Whitworth University

Kimberly Ortiz
Assistant Director of Experiential Learning & Employer Engagement, Career Advisor:  STEM
(509) 777-3344
kortiz@whitworth.edu

Students are encouraged meet with Kim Oritz in Career Services to discuss the internship and identify an appropriate faculty sponsor. Political Science students must meet with Professor Julia Stronks to discuss faculty sponsorship.