# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING DECEMBER 17, 2019 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, on December 17, 2019.

# **Committee Members Attending**

Chair Fitzgibbon Seth Miller for Tracy Guerin

John Boesenberg Byron Olson

Senator Conway Representative Ormsby

Annette Creekpaum Mark Soper

Randy Davis Representative Stokesbary

Beverly Freeman J. Pat Thompson
Leanne Kunze Representative Volz

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

#### (1) WSIB UPDATE

Theresa Whitmarsh, Executive Director, Washington State Investment Board, presented.

No action taken.

#### (2) UPDATE: INACTIVE ACCOUNTS

Kaitlyn Donahoe, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (3) PERS AND PSERS DUAL MEMBERSHIP

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (4) APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting November 19, 2019, Draft Minutes.

#### (5) SESSION PREP

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

\*Vacant, Vice Chair

John Boesenberg
PERS/Higher Ed Employers

**Senator Steve Conway** 

**Annette Creekpaum** *PERS Employers* 

Randy Davis TRS Actives

\*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

**Beverly Freeman** PERS Employers

\*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

\*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

**Senator Steve Hobbs** 

Leanne Kunze PERS Actives

Anthony Murrietta PERS Actives

\*Byron Olson PERS Employers

#### Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher,** Director Office of Financial Management

Mark Soper WSPRS Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

\*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Representative Mike Volz

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

## (6) INVESTMENT OPTIONS FOR TARGET DATE FUNDS (PLANS 3 AND DCP)

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend the bill draft to the Legislature.

## The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Ken Friermuth, Pierce County Corrections.

Russ Allen, Corrections Officer, Pierce County Jail.

Deborah Hopkins, Vice President, Pierce County Corrections Guild.

Stacy Conley, Corrections Officer, King County Juvenile Detention Center

Diane Lewis, Corrections Officer, King County Juvenile Detention Center.

Edward Shannon, Washington State Jail Association.

The meeting adjourned at 11:24 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2019\12-17.Full\0.12.17.19-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx