# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 21, 2019 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on May 21, 2019.

# **Committee Members Attending**

Chair Conway Seth Miller for Tracy Guerin

Senator Bailey Byron Olson

John Bosenberg Representative Ormsby

Randy Davis Senator Schoesler
Representative Fitzgibbon J. Pat Thompson
Beverly Freeman Representative Volz

Leanne Kunze

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

### (1) APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER AND DECEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meetings on November 13, 2018, and December 11, 2018.

### (2) INTRODUCTION TO THE 2019 INTERIM

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (3) OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT (OPMA) REFRESHER

Nancy Krier, Assistant Attorney General for Open Government, Office of the Attorney General, presented.

No action taken.

#### (4) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

# Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Fitzgibbon for Chair.

Representative Fitzgibbon was unanimously elected as Chair.

Chair Fitzgibbon chaired the rest of the meeting.

\*Senator Barbara Bailey, Vice Chair

**John Boesenberg** *PERS/Higher Ed Employers* 

**Senator Steve Conway** 

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis
TRS Actives

\*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

**Beverly Freeman** PERS Employers

\*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> \*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

**Senator Steve Hobbs** 

Leanne Kunze
PERS Actives

Anthony Murrietta
Actives

\*Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher,** Director Office of Financial Management

Mark Soper WSPRS Retirees

Representative Stokesbary

\*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Representative Mike Volz

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

# Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Bailey for Vice Chair. Senator Bailey was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

# Nominations for Executive Committee

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to:* Nominate J. Pat Thompson to represent active members.

J. Pat Thompson was unanimously elected.

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to:* Nominate Bev Hermanson to represent retiree members.

Bev Hermanson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Nominate Byron Olson to represent employers.

Byron Olson was unanimously elected.

# (5) 2019 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Kaitlyn Donahoe, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (6) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE

Jacob White, Senior Research and Policy Manager, LEOFF Plan 2 Retirement Board, presented.

No action taken.

# (7) INTERIM PLANNING: MEMBER AND PUBLIC INPUT

No action taken.

# The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Davor Gjurasic, Washington State Patrol Troopers Association.

Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees.

Roy Orlando, Director, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

The meeting adjourned at 11:24 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.