Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 18, 2019 APROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on June 18, 2019.

Committee Members Attending

- Chair Fitzgibbon Vice Chair Bailey John Boesenberg Senator Conway Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Beverly Freeman Bev Hermanson Leanne Kunze
- Seth Miller *for Tracy Guerin* Anthony Murrietta Byron Olson Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler Mark Soper Representative Stokesbary J. Pat Thompson

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MAY MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting May 21, 2019, Draft Minutes.

(2) OSA UPDATE

Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(3) PEER STATE PENSION SYSTEMS Kaitlyn Donahoe, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) **PSERS PLAN HISTORY AND MEMBERSHIP** Kaitlyn Donahoe presented.

No action taken.

(5) LEOFF 1 AND PRIOR ACT PENSION AND DISABILITY BOARDS

Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

*Senator Barbara Bailey, Vice Chair

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

***Tracy Guerin**, Director *Department of Retirement Systems*

*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Leanne Kunze PERS Actives

Anthony Murrietta Actives

*Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Mark Soper WSPRS Retirees

Representative Stokesbary

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Representative Mike Volz

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes June 18, 2019 Page 2

(6) PLANS 1 UAAL FUNDING POLICY AND PAYMENTS Corban Nemeth presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Richard Warbrouck, President, Retired Fire Fighters of Washington. Bill Dickinson, President, LEOFF 1 Coalition.

The meeting adjourned at 12:02 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O: \verb|SCPP|2019|06-18.Full|0.06.18.19-Approved..Regular.Minutes.docx||$