The Professional Educator Standards Board Members:

Jill Van Glubt, of Fall City, is Chair of the PESB. Representing public school teachers, she is a teacher at Eastlake High School in the Lake Washington School District.

Lori Blanchard, of Montesano, representing parents, is Chair of the Montesano School Board.

June Canty, of Battle Ground, representing public higher education, is a Professor and the Director of Education Programs at Washington State University, Vancouver.

Gary Cohn, of Port Angeles, representing superintendents, is the Superintendent of Port Angeles School District.

Roger Erskine, of Olympia, representing Washington citizens, serves on the Board of the League of Education Voters.

Vicki Frei, of Clarkston, representing classified instructional employees is a paraprofessional with the Learning Assistance Program in the Clarkston School District.

John B. Hagney, of Spokane, representing public school teachers, is a high school teacher at Lewis & Clark High School in Spokane.

Theodore Howard II, of Seattle, representing public school principals, is the principal of Garfield High School in Seattle.

Keith Hunziker, of Chehalis, representing public school teachers, is an elementary school teacher at Olympic Elementary School in Chehalis.

Myra Johnson, of Tacoma, representing educational staff associates, is an elementary school counselor in the Clover Park School District.

Shannon Lawson, of Spokane, representing public school teachers, is a teacher in the Cheney School District.

Kathryn A. Nelson, of Bellevue, representing private school teachers, is a special education teacher at Hamlin Robinson School in Seattle.

Dora Noble, of Pasco, representing public school teachers, is a LL/literacy coach at Robert Frost Elementary in the Pasco School District.

Sharon Okamoto, of Seattle, representing private school principals, is the principal of the Seattle Urban Academy in Seattle.

Ann Pulkkinen, of Maple Valley, representing educational staff associates, is a school social worker for the Tahoma School District.

Grant Pelesky, of Puyallup, representing public school teachers, is a teacher at Fruitland Elementary in the Puyallup School district.

Member Profiles Updated: May 2008

Stephen Rushing, of Puyallup, representing public school principals, is the principal at Pioneer Valley Elementary School.

Stephanie Salzman, of Bellingham, representing public higher education, is the dean of the college of education at Western Washington University.

Yvonne Ullas, of Yakima, representing public school teachers, is a second grade teacher at Roosevelt Elementary School in Yakima.

Joyce Westgard, of Tenino, representing private higher education, is the dean of the college of education at St. Martin's University.

Terry Bergeson, Washington State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Professional Educator Standards Board Staff:

Jennifer Wallace, Executive Director
Dr. Lin Douglas, Senior Associate, Policy & Programs
Pamela Cook, Executive Assistant
Esther Baker, Program Director, Teacher Assessments
Nasue Nishida, Policy and Research Analyst
Mea Moore, Coordinator of Educator Programs and Standards
Erin Smessaert, Administrative Assistant

Member Profiles Updated: May 2008