JOINT TASK FORCE ON Basic Education Finance

DATE: September 10, 2007 TIME: 9:00 a.m. LOCATION: SHR 1

Members present: Dan Grimm, Glenn Anderson, Terry Bergeson, Lisa Brown, Cheryl Chow, Laurie Dolan, Kathy Haigh, Ross Hunter, Bette Hyde, Jim Kowalkowski, Skip Priest, Pat Sullivan, Rodney Tom

Members not present: Mike Hewitt, Janea Holmquist, Fred Jarrett

The meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. by Dan Grimm, Chair.

WORK SESSION

9:06 - A brief word from Senator Rosemary McAuliffe, Chair of the Senate Early Learning & K-12 Education Committee.

9:08 - Marty Brown, Legislative Director, Governor's Office.

9:10 - Susan Mielke, Staff Coordinator and Counsel, Senate Committee Services. Presentation on Engrossed Second Substitute Senate Bill 5627. Questions: Representative Glenn Anderson, District 5

9:16 - Steve Aos, Associate Director, Washington State Institute of Public Policy (WSIPP).
Presentation on WSIPP research report and proposed work plan.
Questions:
Dr. Terry Bergeson, Washington State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Representative Kathy Haigh, District 35
Senator Rodney Tom, District 48
Cheryl Chow, Board of Directors, Seattle Public Schools, District VII
Representative Ross Hunter, District 48
Jim Kowalkowski, Superintendent, Davenport School District

10:01 - Dan Grimm, Chair, introduces his proposed work plan for the committee.
Representative Ross Hunter, District 48
Dr. Terry Bergeson, Washington State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Representative Kathy Haigh, District 35
Bette Hyde, Superintendent, Bremerton School District
Representative Skip Priest, District 30

10:14 - Roxanne Lieb, Director, WSIPP. Brief description of the WSIPP draft report (available online)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

10:15 - Cindy McMullen, President, Washington State School Directors' Association John W. Erickson, President, Washington Association of School Administrators Mary Lindquist, President, Washington Education Association George Dockins, President, Public School Employees of Washington Charlene Milota, President, Association of Washington School Principals Kris Van Gorkom, Executive Director, Washington Association of School Business Officials Tracy Steffenson, Business Manager, Renton School District Mitch Denning, Alliance of Education Association Nasue Nishida. Professional Educator Standards Board Catherine Ahl, League of Women Voters Laura Bay, President, Washington State Parent-Teacher Association Kim Howard, Washington State Parent-Teacher Association Abby Rusky, Executive Director, Environmental Education Association of Washington Suzi Wright, Tulalip Tribes of Washington State Jeff Pochop, retired business advocate; citizen Rocky Treppiedi, Director, Spokane Public Schools Kathleen Lopp, Washington Association for Career and Technical Education Connie Fletcher, Issaguah School District Jerry Bender, Washington Association of School Principals George Scarola, League of Education Voters Kathryn Simpson, South Kitsap School Board Member

- 11:25 Senator McAuliffe, closing statement.
- 11:27 Conclusion of public hearing.
- 11:28 Notice of future meeting dates.

MEETING ADJOURNED: 11:29 a.m. MINUTES SUBMITTED BY: Devon Nichols

AN AUDIO RECORDING OF THE MEETING AND WRITTEN TESTIMONY SUBMITTED ARE ON FILE WITH THE COMMITTEE.