Washington State Legislature



Joint Legislative Task Force on School Construction Funding

Wednesday June 18, 2008 9:00 AM HHR A Olympia, WA

1.	9:00-9:30 am -	Staff recap of school construction information related to K-12 capital spending and 2009-11 capital budget outlook. a. Susan Howson & Bryon Moore, Legislative Staff
2.	9:30-9:45 am -	Blueprint for future recommendations. a. Nona Snell, Legislative Staff
3.	9:45-10:30 am -	Policy principles underpinning the current School Construction Assistance Program formula. a. Mike Roberts, Task Force Consultant
4.	10:30-noon -	Local school construction funding expert panel. a. Ray Arment, Superintendent, Eatonville School District b. Dale Bowen, Director, Operations and Personnel, Anacortes School District c. Karen Ernest, Superintendent, Mossyrock School District d. Scott Fenter, Superintendent, PeEll School District e. John Mannix, Executive Director, Facilities and Planning, Spokane School District f. Rob Van Slyke, Executive Director, Operations, Bethel School District g. Mike Currie, Project Manager, ESD 112
5.	12:00-12:15 pm-	Break.
6.	12:15-1:15 pm	State Board of Health proposed school environmental health and safety rule changes. a. Craig McLaughlin, Executive Director, State Board of Health b. Rod Leland, Director of Facility Services, Federal Way School District c. Richard Jones, Superintendent, Burlington Edison School District
7.	1:15-2:15 pm	Brainstorming session with local school district panel on potential options for more immediate and long-term global changes to the school construction funding system.
8.	2:15-2:30 pm	JLARC proposed scope and objectives for the K-12 inventory pilot project. a. Nina Oman, Research Analyst, Joint Legislative Audit & Review Committee
9.	2:30-3:00 pm	OSPI update on current projects. a. Gordon Beck, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
10.	3:00 pm	Recap for July 16, 2008 meeting.

For task force documents please go to: http://www.leg.wa.gov/Joint/Committees/K12SCF/

Senator Dale Brandland Senator Karen Fraser Representative Bill Fromhold Representative Joyce McDonald Senator Eric Oemig Representative Dan Roach

Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos

Fred Stephens Doug Quinn