Washington State Legislature



Joint Legislative Task Force on School Construction Funding

Tuesday August 28, 2007 9:00 AM Vancouver, WA

9:00 a.m. Welcome and introductions.

9:10 a.m. Purpose of study, general organization, selection of chair or co-chairs.

9:30 a.m. Task Force discussion on intended outcomes, issues, and process.

10:15 a.m. Staff presentation on K-12 capital eligibility, spending and funding sources,

historical perspective on K-12 construction, and overview of 1998 and 2002

House K-12 construction work group activities and recommendations.

Bryon Moore, Senate Committee Services Susan Howson, Office of Program Research

Mike Roberts

11:30 a.m. Lunch break - Reconvene for lunch panel.

12:00 p.m. Panel discussion: SW Washington Quality Schools Initiative.

John Deeder, Superintendent, Evergreen Public Schools

Reg Martinson, Executive Director, Facilities, Evergreen Public Schools Steve Madsen, Legislative Affairs, Building Industry Assn of Clark County

Marty Snell, Director, Community Planning, Clark County

1:15 p.m. Break

Senator Dale Brandland Senator Karen Fraser Representative Bill Fromhold Representative Joyce McDonald Senator Eric Oemig Representative Dan Roach Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos Fred Stephens Doug Quinn

Joint Legislative Task Force on School Construction Funding Agenda Page 2

1:30 p.m. Brief discussion of next steps and schedule for subsequent meetings.

1:45 p.m. Building a new school - Process and considerations.

Reg Martinson, Facilities Director, Evergreen School District

2:00 p.m. Task force members to travel to Union High School for site visit.

2:30 p.m. Union High School site tour.

Reg Martinson, Facilities Director, Evergreen School District Brian Grimstead, Principal, Union High School John Deeder, Superintendent, Evergreen School District Von Lien, Architect

3:30 p.m. Return to Board Room by 4:00 p.m.

Senator Dale Brandland Senator Karen Fraser Representative Bill Fromhold Representative Joyce McDonald Senator Eric Oemig Representative Dan Roach Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos Fred Stephens Doug Quinn