Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 17, 2014 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy Executive Committee met in Senate Conference Room A/B/C, Olympia, Washington, on June 17, 2014.

Committee Members Attending

Senator Bailey, Chair Representative Ormsby, Vice Chair John Boesenberg Eugene Forrester Marcie Frost J. Pat Thompson Other SCPP Members Representative Chandler Senator Conway Randy Davis Robert Keller Glenn Olson Senator Schoesler David Westberg

Chair Bailey called the meeting to order at 12:31 p.m.

(A) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Executive Committee Meeting May 20, 2014, Draft Minutes.

(B) AAG UPDATE

Mark Lyon, Assistant Attorney General, provided an update on the pension litigation.

(C) REVIEW OF TODAY'S FULL COMMITTEE AGENDA

The Committee reviewed and discussed the full committee agenda.

(D) JULY MEETING AGENDA

- 1. Approval of Minutes
- 2. PFC Audit Report
- 3. Contribution Rate Recommendation to PFC
- 4. History of Post-Retirement Employment

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Adopt the July Meeting agenda with one possible addition by the Chair, time permitting.

*Senator Barbara Bailey, Chair

*John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

Representative Bruce Chandler

Senator Steve Conway

Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Eugene Forrester TRS Retirees

***Marcie Frost**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

Senator Steve Hobbs

Corky Holloway PERS Employers

Robert Keller *PERS Actives*

Representative Matt Manweller

> Vacant Employers

Glenn Olson PERS Employers

*Representative Timm Ormsby, Vice Chair

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Pat Sullivan

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u>

(E) CONSTITUENT CORRESPONDENCE

No new correspondence was received since the May meeting.

(F) DISCUSSION/OTHER BUSINESS

The committee discussed other business.

The following non-SCPP members addressed the Executive Committee. Dave Nelsen, DRS Steve Nelsen, LEOFF 2 Board

The meeting adjourned at 1:34 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of full committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O:\SCPP\2014\6-17-14_Exec\0.6-17-14_Aprvd_Exec_Minutes.docx$