Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 16, 2017 APPROVERD MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on May 16, 2017.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Tracy Guerin Vice Chair Chandler Byron Olson

Senator Bailey Representative Ormsby John Boesenberg David Schumacher

Annette Creekpaum Representative Stanford

Randy Davis Robert Thurston Beverly Freeman David Westberg

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:08 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting December 13, 2016, Draft Minutes.

(2) STAFF INTRODUCTIONS AND INTERIM KICK-OFF Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

(3) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Chandler for Chair.

Representative Chandler was unanimously elected as Chair.

Chair Chandler chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Conway for Vice Chair.

Senator Conway was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg *PERS/Higher Ed Employers*

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Vice Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

*Randy Davis
TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Derek Stanford

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg
SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Pat Thompson to represent active members.

Pat Thompson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Beverly Hermanson to represent retiree members.

Beverly Hermanson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Nominate Byron Olson to represent employers.

Byron Olson was unanimously elected.

(4) 2017 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

(5) TRIBAL PARTICIPATION IN THE STATE RETIREMENT SYSTEMS

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Jacob White, Legal and Legislative Services Director, Department of Retirement Systems.

Mark Jacobson, Quileute Tribal School.

Harvey Whitford, Wa He Lut Indian School.

Dylan Doty, Muckleshoot Tribe.

Amber Lewis, Suquamish Tribe.

The meeting adjourned at 11:27 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2017\05.16-Full\0.05.16.17-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx