Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 16, 2020 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on June 16, 2020.

Committee Members Attending

- Chair Fitzgibbon John Boesenberg Senator Braun Senator Conway Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Beverly Freeman Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Leanne Kunze
- Anthony Murrietta Byron Olson Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler David Schumacher Mark Soper Representative Stokesbary J. Pat Thompson Representative Volz

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

(1) INTERIM KICK-OFF

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(2) AGENCY UPDATES AND COVID-19 IMPACTS * WASHINGTON STATE INVESMENT BOARD

Theresa Whitmarsh, Executive Director, presented.

DEPARTMENT OF RETIREMENT SYSTEMS Seth Miller, Retirement Services Division Assistant Director, presented.

- LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS' AND FIRE FIGHTERS' PLAN 2 RETIREMENT BOARD Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, presented.
- OFFICE OF THE STATE ACTUARY Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(3) PRELIMINARY AVR RESULTS AND DEMOGRAPHIC EXPERIENCE STUDY AUDIT

Luke Masselink, Senior Actuary, and Mitch DeCamp, Senior Actuarial Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

Senator John Braun

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

***Tracy Guerin,** Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Leanne Kunze PERS Actives

Anthony Murrietta PERS Actives

> *Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

*Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Mark Soper WSPRS Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

***J. Pat Thompson** PERS Actives

Representative Mike Volz

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u>

(4) INTERIM PLANNING

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) APPROVAL OF DECEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on June 16, 2020.

(6) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Mark Schoesler for Chair. Senator Mark Schoesler was unanimously elected as Chair.

Chair Schoesler chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Joe Fitzgibbon for Vice Chair.

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Reelect existing members to represent active members, retirees, and employers.

Nominated J. Pat Thompson to represent active members, Bev Hermanson to represent retiree members, and Byron Olson to represent employers. They were unanimously elected for their positions.

The meeting adjourned at 12:16 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O: \verb|SCPP|2020|06-16.Full|0.06.16.20-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx||$