Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 15, 2021 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on June 15, 2021.

Committee Members Attending

- John Boesenberg Senator Braun Senator Conway Annette Creekpaum Vice Chair Fitzgibbon Seth Miller for Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Leanne Kunze
- Representative Ormsby Senator June Robinson Chair Senator Schoesler David Schumacher Mark Soper Representative Stokesbary J. Pat Thompson William Zabelka

Chair Schoesler called the meeting to order at 10:08 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on November 17, 2020.

(2) INTERIM KICK-OFF

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) 2021 LEGISLATIVE HIGHLIGHTS Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

No action taken.

(4) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF 2 Board, presented.

No action taken.

(5) INTERIM PLANNING

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

Senator John Braun

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Vacant TRS Actives

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Vice Chair

> Vacant PERS Employers

***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Leanne Kunze PERS Actives

Anthony Murrietta PERS Actives

> *Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

*Senator Mark Schoesler, Chair

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Mark Soper WSPRS Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

***J. Pat Thompson** PERS Actives

Representative Mike Volz

William Zabelka Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u>

(6) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Drew Stokesbary for Chair.

Representative Drew Stokesbary was unanimously elected as Chair.

Chair Stokesbary chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Steve Conway for Vice Chair.

Senator Steve Conway was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate J. Pat Thompson to represent active members.

J. Pat Thompson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Mark Soper to represent retirees. *Mark Soper was unanimously elected.*

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Anthony Murietta to represent employers.

Anthony Murietta was unanimously elected.

(7) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Johanna Standish, Grays Harbor Area President, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Helen Shawcroft, Retiree, University of Washington Department of Health Services. Fred Yancey, Lobbyist, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Kristine Kraig, Retiree, Public Employees' Retirement System.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2021\06.15-Full\0.06.15.21-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx