# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 20, 2021 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on July 20, 2021.

## **Committee Members Attending**

Chair Stokesbary Anthony Murrietta
Vice Chair Conway Senator June Robinson

Annette Creekpaum Mark Soper
Representative Fitzgibbon J. Pat Thompson
Tracy Guerin Representative Volz

Chair Stokesbary called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

## (1) APPROVAL OF JUNE MINUTES

No action taken.

#### (2) OSA UPDATE

Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

#### (3) DEFERRED COMPENSATION OVERVIEW

Seth Miller, Retirement Readiness Director, DRS, and Fred Gjerstad, Assistant Senior Investment Officer, WSIB, presented.

No action taken.

#### (4) PSERS/LEOFF 2 DISABILITY BENEFITS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (5) PLANS 1 COLAS

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (6) PUBLIC COMMENT

## The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Kristine Kraig, Retiree.

Jose Palmas, Retiree.

Carol Johns, Retiree.

Edith Ruby, Retiree, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

**Vacant** *Employers* 

Senator John Braun

\*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

#### Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

\*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

**Bev Hermanson** *Retirees* 

Leanne Kunze Actives

> Vacant Actives

\*Anthony Murietta
Employers

**Vacant** *Employers* 

Representative Timm Ormsby

**Senator June Robinson** 

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher**, Director Office of Financial Management

\*Mark Soper Retirees

\*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Chair

\*J. Pat Thompson
Actives

#### Representative Mike Volz

William Zabelka Employers

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes July 20, 2021 Page 2

Clair Olivers, Treasurer, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Stephen Lalonde, Retiree.

Fred Yancey, Lobbyist, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Laura Saunders, Retiree.

Gretchen McDevitt, Retiree.

Patricia MacGowan, Volunteer, Washington State School Retirees' Association,

University of Washington Retirement Association.

Daniel Grey, Retiree.

Mary Lindsey, President, Washington Education Association.

Gloria Smith, Retiree, Washington Education Association.

The meeting adjourned at 12:25 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O: \SCPP \2021 \07.20-Full \0.07.20.21-Approved. Regular. Minutes. docx$