Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING SEPTEMBER 21, 2021 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on September 21, 2021.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Stokesbary Vice Chair Conway Senator John Braun Annette Creekpaum Representative Fitzgibbon Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Anthony Murrietta Representative Ormsby Senator June Robinson Senator Mark Schoesler Mark Soper J. Pat Thompson Representative Volz

Chair Stokesbary called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF JUNE AND JULY MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meetings on June 15, 2021, and July 20, 2021.

(2) **REPORT ON FINANCIAL CONDITION** Luke Masselink, Senior Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(3) STATE ACTUARY'S RECOMMENDATION ON LONG-TERM ECONOMIC ASSUMPTIONS Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(4) DRS CEM BENCHMARKING Mark Feldhausen, Budget and Performance Management Director, Department of Retirement Systems, and Mike Heale, Principal, CEM Benchmarking, presented.

No action taken.

(5) **PSERS/LEOFF 2 DISABILITY BENEFITS** Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Advance a new version of House Bill 2533 to the Legislature.

Vacant Employers

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Bev Hermanson Retirees

Leanne Kunze Actives

> Vacant Actives

*Anthony Murietta Employers

> **Vacant** *Employers*

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Chair

*J. Pat Thompson Actives

Representative Mike Volz

William Zabelka Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u>

(6) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees. James Cockburn, Executive Director, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington. Kandy Kraig, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington. Ross Oswald. Julie Salvi, Lobbyist, Washington Education Association. Zona Spaeth, President, Retired Public Employees Council Chapter 13. Fred Yancey, Lobbyist, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Kristine Kraig, Retiree. John Smith, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington Chapter 8. Mary Lindsey, President, Washington Education Association Bing Bristol.

The meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2021\09.21-Full\0.09.21.21-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx