FACTS ABOUT THE MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATURE

Youngest Members to Ever Serve*

0	OFIL District	A	4 00
Senator Calvin Goings	25th District	Appointed in 1995	Age 22
Rep. Chester Beisen	28 th District	1927	Age 22
Rep. Michael B. Smith	1st District	1935	Age 22
Rep. Lloyd Lindgren	31st District	1935	Age 22
Rep. William J Pennock	35 th District	1939	Age 23
Rep. Corbin Sullivan	20 th District	1935	Age 23
Rep. J. Vanderstoep	20th District	1981	Age 23
Rep. Bill Finkbeiner	45th District	1993	Age 23
Rep. Rick S. Bender	1st District	1973	Age 23

Oldest Members to Ever Serve*

We don't really know for sure but as of now the best guess is: Bob McCaslin and Alex Deccio – both 84

If you have other candidates, let us know and we'll research them.

4 th District	2010	Age 84
14 th District	2006	Age 84
29th District	2010	Age 83
17 th District	1950	Age 83
29 th District	1993	Age 82
36 th District	1994	Age 81
11 th District	2011	Age 81
37 th District	1992	Age 80
33 rd District	1940	Age 80
7 th & 8 th Districts	1932	Age 80
34 th District	1944	Age 80
3 rd District	1946	Age 80
42 nd District	1962	Age 80
43 rd District	1962	Age 80
	14 th District 29 th District 17 th District 29 th District 36 th District 11 th District 37 th District 37 th District 37 th District 37 th & 8 th Districts 34 th District 3 rd District 42 nd District	14th District 2006 29th District 2010 17th District 1950 29th District 1993 36th District 1994 11th District 2011 37th District 1992 33rd District 1940 7th & 8th Districts 1932 34th District 1944 3rd District 1946 42nd District 1962

^{*} Based on Legislative Manuals going back to 1917

2015 LEGISLATURE

Youngest Member

Representative Melanie Stambaugh –24

Oldest Member

Representative Norm Johnson -- 77 (sometime this year)

of Women – 49 (33%)

Ralph Metcalf	1907-1939	33 years
James Keefe	1949-1979	31 years
Bob McCaslin	1981-2011	30 years
Oliver Hall	1895-1902; 1911-1932	30 years
A.L. Rasmussen	1961-1967; 1971-1992	29 years
George Sellar	1972-2000	29 years
Nat Washington	1951-1978	28 years
Bob Grieve	1947-1974	28 years

Longest Serving Representatives

1939-1946; 1949-1992	52 years
1973-2008	36 years
1961-1990	30 years
1965-1994	30 years
1953-1979	27 years
	1973-2008 1961-1990 1965-1994

Longest Serving Legislators

John L. O'Brien	1939-1946; 1949-1992	52 years
Al Rasmussen	1945-1967; 1971-1992	45 years
Helen Sommers	1973-2008	36 years
Irv Newhouse	1965-1998	34 years
Ralph Metcalf	1907-1939	33 years

Longest Serving Legislators in current Legislature

House:		
Frank Chopp	1995-2015	21 years
Eileen Cody	1995-2015	21 years
Hans Dunshee	1993-1994; 1997-2015	21 years
Senate:		
Pam Roach	1991-2015	25 years
Jim Hargrove	1993-2015	23 years
Including service in	n House	
	1985-2015	31 years