Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 20, 2014 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in Senate Hearing Room 4, Olympia, Washington, on May 20, 2014.

Committee Members Attending

Representative Ormsby, Chair Senator Bailey, Vice Chair John Boesenberg Representative Chandler Senator Conway Randy Davis Eugene Forrester Marcie Frost Robert Keller Representative Manweller Senator Schoesler David Schumacher J. Pat Thompson Robert Thurston

Chair Ormsby called the meeting to order at 10:31 a.m.

(1) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, reviewed the Election of Officers handout.

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Bailey for Chair. Senator Bailey was unanimously elected for Chair.

Senator Bailey chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Ormsby for Vice Chair. Representative Ormsby was unanimously elected for Vice Chair. P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 actuary.state@leg.wa.gov

*Senator Barbara Bailey, Chair

*John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

Representative Bruce Chandler

Senator Steve Conway

Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Eugene Forrester TRS Retirees

***Marcie Frost**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

Senator Steve Hobbs

Corky Holloway PERS Employers

Robert Keller *PERS Actives*

Representative Matt Manweller

> Vacant Employers

Glenn Olson PERS Employers

*Representative Timm Ormsby, Vice Chair

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Representative Pat Sullivan

***J. Pat Thompson** PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u>

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate J. Pat Thompson to represent active members.

J. Pat Thompson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Eugene Forrester to represent retirees.

Eugene Forrester was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Nominate John Boesenberg to represent employers.

John Boesenberg was unanimously elected.

(2) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting December 10, 2013, Draft Minutes.

(3) 2014 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Devon Nichols, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) PENSION LITIGATION UPDATE

Anne Hall, Senior Counsel, Office of the Attorney General, presented.

No action taken.

(5) **REPORT ON MEMBER SATISFACTION SURVEY**

Aaron Gutierrez and Devon Nichols presented.

No action taken.

(6) INTERIM PREVIEW

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

The meeting adjourned at 11:36 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of full committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O:\SCPP\2014\5-20-14_Full\0.5-20-14_Aprvd_Regular_Minutes.docx$