# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 20, 2015 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in Senate Hearing Room 4, Olympia, Washington, on October 20, 2015.

# **Committee Members Attending**

Representative Chandler, Chair **Beverly Hermanson** Senator Conway, Vice Chair Senator Hobbs Senator Bailey Robert Keller John Boesenberg Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler Patricia Bosmans Annette Creekpaum J. Pat Thompson Randy Davis Robert Thurston **Beverly Freeman** David Westberg

Chair Chandler called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

#### (1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Marcie Frost

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting September 15, 2015, Draft Minutes.

### (2) PRELIMINARY 2016 MEETING DATES

No action taken.

# (3) RECOMMENDATION TO PFC ON LONG-TERM ECONOMIC ASSUMPTIONS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### (4) BACKGROUND ON PUBLIC SAFETY PLANS

Aaron Gutierrez and Lauren Rafanelli presented.

## 4a. BACKGROUND ON PUBLIC SAFETY PLANS

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

#### Senator Barbara Bailey

**John Boesenberg** PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> **Patricia Bosmans** PERS Employers

\*Representative Bruce Chandler, Chair

\*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis TRS Actives

\*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

\*Marcie Frost, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

**Senator Steve Hobbs** 

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher,** Director Office of Financial Management

#### Representative Pat Sullivan

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

\*Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

\*David Westberg SERS Actives

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

# 4b. STATE EMPLOYEES CALLED UP TO FEDERAL SERVICE

Lauren Rafanelli presented.

No action taken.

### 4c. PERS ELIGIBILITY FOR PART-TIME FIRE FIGHTERS

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

# 4d. RECENT STAKEHOLDER REQUESTS

Lauren Rafanelli presented.

No action taken.

# The following non-members addressed the committee:

Brigette Smith, Executive Secretary, Board for Volunteer Fire Fighters and Reserve Officers. Brian VanCamp, Board Member, Board for Volunteer Fire Fighters and Reserve Officers. Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF Plan 2 Retirement Board. Bruce Holloway, Fire Chief, Spokane County Fire District #3.

The meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2015\10.20-Full\0.10.20.15-Aprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx