Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING NOVEMBER 17, 2015 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in Senate Hearing Room 4, Olympia, Washington, on November 17, 2015.

Committee Members Attending

Representative Chandler, Chair Senator Conway, Vice Chair Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Patricia Bosmans Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Beverly Freeman Marci Frost Beverly Hermanson Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler David Schumacher Robert Thurston David Westberg

Chair Chandler called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: *Approve the Regular Committee Meeting October 20, 2015, Draft Minutes.*

(2) ADOPTION OF 2016 MEETING DATES

Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, presented. *It was moved, seconded, and carried to*: *Adopt the proposed 2016 meeting dates.*

(3) UPDATE ON HERP VALUATION Luke Masselink, ASA, EA, MAAA, Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(4) **PSERS PROPOSAL** Lauren Rafanelli presented.

No action taken.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> Patricia Bosmans PERS Employers

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Marcie Frost, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Representative Pat Sullivan

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

*Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

*David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u> Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes November 17, 2015 Page 2

(5) **DISABILITY RETIREMENT FACTORS** Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

(6) FOLLOW UP ON 2014 SUBSTITUTE TEACHER SURVEY Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

The following non-SCPP members addressed the committee: Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees. Lindsey Grad, Service Employees International Union 119. Bob Butts, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. Dana Anderson, Educational Service District #113, Olympia. Brenda Rogers, Bethel School District #403. Betsy Elgar, United States Constitutional Party. Jim Kowalkowski, Davenport School District and Rural Education Center. Steve Myers, Educational Service District #105, Yakima. Kevin Chase, Grandview School District. Jon Davidson, Washington Education Association. David Anderson, Mount Vernon School District. Jerry Bender, Association of Washington School Principals.

The meeting adjourned at 12:55 pm.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O:\SCPP\2015\11.17-Full\0.11.17.15-Apprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx$