Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING DECEMBER 15, 2015 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in Senate Hearing Room 4, Olympia, Washington, on December 15, 2015.

Committee Members Attending

Representative Chandler, Chair Senator Conway, Vice Chair Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Beverly Freeman Marcie Frost Beverly Hermanson Senator Keller Representative Manweller Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler J. Pat Thompson Robert Thurston David Westberg

Chair Chandler called the meeting to order at 10:17 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: *Approve the Regular Committee Meeting November 17, 2015, Draft Minutes.*

(2) WSIB UPDATE

Theresa Whitmarsh, Director, Washington State Investment Board, presented.

No action taken.

(3) UPDATE ON BUDGET ENVIRONMENT David Pringle, Senior Counsel, Office of Program Research, presented.

No action taken.

(4) LEOFF 1 AND WSPRS ANNUITY PURCHASE Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Endorse the concept of Annuity Purchase and ask staff to work with the LEOFF 2 Board to include LEOFF 1 and WSPRS in any LEOFF 2 Board Annuity Purchase bill recommended to the Legislature.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> Patricia Bosmans PERS Employers

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Marcie Frost, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller *PERS Actives*

Representative Matt Manweller

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Representative Pat Sullivan

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

*Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

*David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

Page 2

(5) SHB 1718 – PSERS EXPANSION

Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved and seconded to: Endorse SHB 1718. Roll call: 9 ayes, 7 nays. Motion failed.

(6) SHB 1737 – RETIRED TEACHERS AS SUBSTITUTES Aaron Gutierrez presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Endorse SHB 1737.

(7) HB 1036 AND ESB 5873 – SURVIVOR BENEFITS

Lauren Rafanelli presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Endorse ESB 5873.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Endorse HB 1036 and its successor (*HB 2298*) *with updated dates.*

(8) PUBLIC SAFETY BILL DRAFTS

Committee discussed.

Chair Chandler called for a recess at 12:39 p.m.

Chair Chandler called the meeting back to order at 12:52 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 1:28 pm.

The following non-SCPP members addressed the committee:

Willie Saw, SEIU – 1199 NW Sue Hendrickson, WFSE Council 28 Peter Diedrick, Washington State School Retirees Association Jerry Bender, Association of WA School Principals Dan Steele, WA Assn. of School Admin Jon Davidson, WEA – Retired Julie Salvi, Washington Education Association Bob Butts, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction Dick Warbrouck, Retired Firefighters of Washington Sonja Ericson Betsy Elgar

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O:\SCPP\2015\12.15-Full\0.12.15.15-Aprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx$