Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary @leg.wa.gov

REGULAR EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 21, 2015 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy Executive Committee met in Senate Conference Room A/B/C, Olympia, Washington, on July 21, 2015.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Chandler Vice Chair Conway Beverly Freeman Dave Nelsen (*Alternate for Marcie Frost*) Robert Thurston David Westberg **Other SCPP Members** Senator Bailey Patricia Bosmans Annette Creekpaum

Randy Davis

Chair Chandler called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

(A) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Executive Committee Meeting November 18, 2014, Draft Minutes.

(B) AAG UPDATE

Mark Lyon, Assistant Attorney General, provided an update on pension litigation.

(C) DISCUSSION/OTHER BUSINESS

- Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, reviewed the State Actuary evaluation, and the vacancy on the State Actuary Appointment Committee.
- Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, reported on correspondence received since the November meeting.
- ✤ Aaron Gutierrez reviewed Interim Planning.

(D) SEPTEMBER MEETING AGENDA

The committee did not approve the draft September meeting agenda. The Chair requested staff prepare an outline for the 2015 Interim with the issues suggested by the committee, and the Chair will work with staff on a September agenda.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> Patricia Bosmans PERS Employers

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Marcie Frost, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Representative Pat Sullivan

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

*Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

*David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u>

The following non-SCPP members addressed the Executive Committee:

Fred Yancey. Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF 2 Board. Richard Warbrouck, President, Retired Firefighters of Washington. Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees.

The meeting adjourned at 1:57 p.m.

Due to unforeseen technical difficulties, no audio recording is available for this meeting. Recorded audio of SCPP full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of full committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2015\7.21-Exec\0.7.21.15-Apprvd.Exec.Minutes.docx