Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 21, 2015 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in Senate Hearing Room 4, Olympia, Washington, on July 21, 2015.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Bailey Marcie Frost

Vice Chair Ormsby Beverly Hermanson

John Boesenberg Senator Hobbs

Patricia Bosmans Representative Manweller

Representative Chandler
Senator Conway
Annette Creekpaum
Randy Davis
David Schumacher
J. Pat Thompson
Robert Thurston
David Westberg

Beverly Freeman

Chair Bailey called the meeting to order at 10:11 a.m.

1) OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT REFRESHER

Mark Lyon, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office, presented.

No action taken.

(2) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, reviewed the Election of Officers handout.

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to nominate Representative Chandler for Chair.

Representative Chandler was unanimously elected as Chair.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to nominate Senator Conway for Vice Chair.

Senator Conway was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

*Senator Barbara Bailey, Chair

*John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> **Patricia Bosmans** PERS Employers

Representative Bruce Chandler

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis
TRS Actives

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Marcie Frost, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

*Representative Timm Ormsby, Vice Chair

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Pat Sullivan

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg
SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Nominations for Executive Committee:

It was moved, seconded, and carried to nominate David Westberg to represent active members.

David Westberg was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to nominate Robert Thurston to represent retiree members.

Robert Thurston was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded and carried to nominate Beverly Freeman to represent employers.

Beverly Freeman was unanimously elected.

(3) BREAK

The committee took a 10-minute break to transition to the new chair. (10:45-10:57)

Chair Chandler chaired the rest of the meeting.

(4) OSA UPDATE

Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(5) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting December 16, 2014, Draft Minutes.

(6) 2015 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(7) STAFF INTRODUCTIONS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes July 21, 2015 Page 3

(8) DRS CEM BENCHMARKING UPDATE

Mark Feldhausen, Budget and Benchmarking Assistant Director, Department of Retirement Systems, presented.

No action taken.

The following non-SCPP members addressed the Full Committee:

Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF 2 Board.

The meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2015\7.21-Full\0.7.21.15-Apprvd_Regular_Minutes.docx