Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 18, 2016 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on October 18, 2016.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway
Vice Chair Chandler
Senator Hobbs
Senator Bailey
Robert Keller
John Boesenberg
Byron Olson

Annette Creekpaum Representative Ormsby

Randy Davis Senator Schoesler
Beverly Freeman J. Pat Thompson
Tracy Guerin David Westberg

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting September 20, 2016, Draft Minutes.

(2) WSIB UPDATE

Theresa Whitmarsh, Director, Washington State Investment Board, presented.

No action taken.

(3) MERGER STUDY

a. AAG UPDATE

Anne Hall, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office, presented.

No action taken.

b. DRS UPDATE

Jacob White, Legal and Legislative Services Manager, Department of Retirement Systems, presented.

No action taken.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg *PERS/Higher Ed Employers*

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Vice Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

*Randy Davis
TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

> **Senator Steve Hobbs**

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

> **Byron Olson** PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Derek Stanford

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

c. ACTUARIAL UPDATE

Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

d. POLICY UPDATE

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) BREAK

(5) PRELIMINARY 2017 MEETING DATES

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

(6) WSPRS STUDY

Darren Painter, Information Services Manager, presented.

No action taken.

(7) PLANS 1 COLA: INITIAL BRIEFING

Jacob White presented.

No action taken.

(8) PLAN MEMBERSHIP DEFAULT

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Dick Warbrouck, President, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Jerry Taylor, President, Retired Seattle Police Officers Association.

Andy Wilson, President, LEOFF 1 Coalition.

Seth Miller, Assistant Director of Customer and Policy Services, Department of Retirement Systems.

Mike Watson, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Pete Diedrick, Legislative Director, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Dr. Curtis Horn, President-elect, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Julie Salvi, Washington Education Association.

Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes October 18, 2016 Page 3

Pat McLachlan, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Karen Keller, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees.

The meeting adjourned at 1:09 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O: \SCPP \2016 \10.18.Full \0.10.18.16-Aprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx$