Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 17, 2016 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on May 17, 2016.

Committee Members Attending

Senator Conway, Vice Chair Senator Hobbs Representative Manweller Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Representative Ormsby Patricia Bosmans Senator Schoesler Randy Davis David Schumacher **Beverly Freeman** J. Pat Thompson Marcie Frost Robert Thurston Beverly Hermanson David Westberg

Vice Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting December 15, 2015, Draft Minutes.

(2) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Conway for Chair.

Senator Conway was unanimously elected as Chair.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Chandler for Vice Chair.

Representative Chandler was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> **Patricia Bosmans** PERS Employers

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Marcie Frost, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Pat Sullivan

J. Pat Thompson
PERS Actives

*Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

*David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes May 17, 2016 Page 2

Nominations for Executive Committee:

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Randy Davis to represent active members.

Randy Davis was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Beverly Hermanson to represent retiree members.

Beverly Hermanson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Nominate Beverly Freeman to represent employers.

Beverly Freeman was unanimously elected.

Chair Conway chaired the rest of the meeting.

(3) 2016 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) WSPRS STUDY: INITIAL BRIEFING

Lauren Rafanelli presented.

No action taken.

(5) MERGER STUDY: INITIAL BRIEFING

Aaron Gutierrez, presented

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Dick Warbrouck, Retired Firefighters of Washington
Pete Diedrick, Legislative Director for Washington State School Retirees
Maria Britton-Sipe, Executive Director Retired Public Employees Council of Washington
Davor Gjurasic, Washington State Patrol Troopers Association
Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees

The meeting adjourned at 11:28 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.