## **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 21, 2016 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on June 21, 2016.

### **Committee Members Attending**

Chair Conway Vice Chair Chandler Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Marcie Frost Beverly Hermanson Robert Keller Representative Manweller Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler David Schumacher Representative Stanford J. Pat Thompson Robert Thurston David Westberg

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

### (1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to*: *Approve the Regular Committee Meeting May 17, 2016, Draft Minutes.* 

## (2) DRS CEM BENCHMARKING UPDATE

Mark Feldhausen, Budget and Benchmarking Director, Department of Retirement Systems, and Mike Heale, Principal, CEM Benchmarking, presented.

No action taken.

(3) PRELIMINARY VALUATION RESULTS Matt Smith, State Actuary, and Lisa Won, Deputy State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

## (4) MERGER STUDY: STAFF WORK PLAN Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

#### Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employer

> Vacant Employers

\*Representative Bruce Chandler, Vice Chair

\*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> \*Randy Davis TRS Actives

\*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

\***Marcie Frost**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> \*Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

**Robert Keller** *PERS Actives* 

Representative Matt Manweller

**Representative Timm Ormsby** 

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher**, Director *Office of Financial Management* 

#### **Representative Derek Stanford**

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

**Robert Thurston** WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg SERS Actives

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes June 21, 2016 Page 2

# (5a) WSPRS STUDY: BACKGROUND AND STAFF WORK PLAN Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

## (5b) WSPRS STUDY: OTHER AGENCY ACTIVITY

Jay Balasbas, Senior Budget Assistant on Transportation, Office of Financial Management, and Captain Monica Alexander, Office of Government and Media Relations, Washington State Patrol, presented.

No action taken.

## (6) HERP SUPPLEMENTAL VALUATION

Luke Masselink, Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

## The following non-members addressed the committee:

Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF 2 Board Andy Wilson, President, LEOFF 1 Coalition Dick Warbrouck, Retired Firefighters of Washington Dave Peery, Secretary, LEOFF 1 Coalition Jerry Taylor, President, Retired Seattle Police Officers' Association Geoff Simpson, Washington State Council of Fire Fighters

The meeting adjourned at 12:59 p.m.

*Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.* 

 $O:\SCPP\2016\06.21.Full\0.06.21.16-Aprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx$