Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 19, 2016 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Conference Rooms B15/18, Olympia, Washington, on July 19, 2016.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Vice Chair Chandler Randy Davis Beverly Freeman Marcie Frost Beverly Hermanson

Other SCPP Members

Senator Bailey Annette Creekpaum Byron Olson

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 12:47 p.m.

(A) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Executive Committee Meeting June 21, 2016, Draft Minutes.

(B) AAG UPDATE

Anne Hall, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office, provided an update on pension litigation.

(C) OPTIONAL DISCUSSION OF TODAY'S FULL COMMITTEE ITEMS

It was moved, seconded, and carried to recommend to the Full Committee: Make August 31 the cut-off date for the OSA to gather questions to guide the Merger Study.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to recommend to the Full Committee: Consider Options 2, 3, 4, and 5, and include the voluntary overtime stakeholder request for the WSPRS Study.

(D) CONSTITUENT CORRESPONDENCE

Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, reported on correspondence received since the June meeting.

No action taken.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg *PERS/Higher Ed Employers*

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Vice Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

*Randy Davis
TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Marcie Frost, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Derek Stanford

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg
SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Regular Executive Committee Meeting Approved Minutes July 19, 2016

Page 2

(E) SEPTEMBER MEETING AGENDA

- 1. Approval of Minutes
- 2. Update on PFC Adoption
- 3. DRS Update
- 4. LEOFF 2 Board Update
- 5. Merger Study
- 6. WSPRS Study
- 7. Age-Based Plan Opt-Out: Initial Briefing
- 8. Plan Default: Initial Briefing
- 9. Adjourn

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Adopt the draft September Meeting Agenda.

(F) DISCUSSION/OTHER BUSINESS

The committee discussed other business.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Dick Warbrouck, President, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Jim Adsley, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Steve Nelson, Executive Director, LEOFF Plan 2 Retirement Board.

Ken Crowder, Washington State Retired Police Officers.

James A. Fossos, Vice President, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Joyce Willms, Lobbyist, LEOFF 1 Coalition.

Davor Gjurasic, Washington State Patrol Troopers Association.

Seth Miller, Assistant Director of Customer and Policy Services, Department of Retirement Systems.

The meeting adjourned at 2:07 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2016\07.19.Exec\0.07.19.16-Aprvd.Exec.Minutes.docx