Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 19, 2016 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on July 19, 2016.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Vice Chair Chandler Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Beverly Freeman Marcie Frost Beverly Hermanson Representative Manweller Byron Olson David Schumacher Robert Thurston

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: *Approve the Regular Committee Meeting June 21, 2016, Draft Minutes.*

(2) OSA UPDATE Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(3) UPDATE ON PRELIMINARY AUDIT RESULTS Lauren Rafanelli, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) RATE RECOMMENDATION TO THE PFC Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

> *It was moved, seconded, and carried to*: Recommend Option B, for the Pension Funding Council to adopt contribution rates that include the second step of the mortality improvement phase-in, plus a higher *TRS* system growth rate.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Vice Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> *Randy Davis TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

***Marcie Frost**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

> **Senator Steve Hobbs**

Robert Keller *PERS Actives*

Representative Matt Manweller

> **Byron Olson** *PERS Employers*

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Representative Derek Stanford

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u> Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes July 19, 2016 Page 2

(5) MERGER STUDY: UPDATE Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

No action taken.

(6) WSPRS STUDY

Lauren Rafanelli, presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Candice Bock, Government Relations Advocate, Association of Washington Cities. Andy Wilson, President, LEOFF 1 Coalition. Dick Warbrouck, President, Retired Firefighters of Washington. Paul Barden. Dennis Corbett, Retired, LEOFF 1.

The meeting adjourned at 12:18 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2016\07.19.Full\0.07.19.16-Aprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx