Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING SEPTEMBER 20, 2016 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, on September 20, 2016.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Beverly Hermanson

Vice Chair Chandler Robert Keller

Senator Bailey Representative Manweller

John Boesenberg Byron Olson

Annette Creekpaum Representative Ormsby

Randy Davis Senator Schoesler
Beverly Freeman J. Pat Thompson
Tracy Guerin Robert Thurston

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting July 19, 2016, Draft Minutes.

(2) MERGER STUDY

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, and Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(3) BREAK

(4) UPDATE ON PFC ADOPTION

Graham Dyer, Actuarial Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) DRS UPDATE

Jacob White, Legal and Legislative Services Manager, Department of Retirement Systems, presented.

No action taken.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

*Representative Bruce Chandler, Vice Chair

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum *PERS Employers*

*Randy Davis
TRS Actives

*Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

*Beverly Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Robert Keller PERS Actives

Representative Matt Manweller

Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Representative Derek Stanford

J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

David Westberg
SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

Page 2

(6) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE

Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF 2 Board, presented.

No action taken.

(7) WSPRS STUDY

Darren Painter, Information Services Manager, presented.

No action taken.

(8) PLAN MEMBERSHIP DEFAULT: INITIAL BRIEFING

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

(9) AGE-BASED PLAN OPT-OUT: INITIAL BREIFING

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

(10) ADJOURN

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Andy Wilson, President, LEOFF 1 Coalition.

Dick Warbrouck, President, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

James A. Fossos, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Rick Rouse.

The meeting adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2016\09.20.Full\0.09.20.16-Aprvd.Regular.Minutes.docx