Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING NOVEMBER 14, 2017 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on November 14, 2017.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Manweller Bev Hermanson Boyd McCamish Vice Chair Conway Senator Bailey Byron Olson Senator Schoesler John Boesenberg David Schumacher Annette Creekpaum Robert Thurston Randy Davis Representative Volz Representative Fitzgibbon Beverly Freeman David Westberg

Tracy Guerin

Chair Manweller called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF OCTOBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting October 17, 2017, Draft Minutes.

(2) WSIB UPDATE

Theresa Whitmarsh, Director, Washington State Investment Board, presented.

No action taken.

(3) DRS UPDATE

Tracy Guerin, Director, Department of Retirement Systems, presented.

No action taken.

(4) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE: MILITARY SERVICE CREDIT STUDY

Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF Plan 2 Retirement Board, presented.

No action taken.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg *PERS/Higher Ed Employers*

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis
TRS Actives

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

Beverly Freeman *PERS Employers*

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

*Representative Matt Manweller, Chair

> Boyd McCamish PERS Actives

*Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

Representative Mike Volz

David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

(5) PLANS 1 COLA PROPOSAL

Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(6) TRIBAL SCHOOLS: PARTICIPATION IN THE STATE RETIREMENT SYSTEMS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the committee:

Cheri Ingersoll, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Don Bunger, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

LeeAnn Prielipp, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Fred Yancey, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Gery Gurst, Washington Education Association and Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Mark Jacobson, Quileute Tribal School.

Mike Ricchio, Assistant Director, Administrative Services Division, Department of Retirement Systems.

The meeting adjourned at 12:01 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.