# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING DECEMBER 12, 2017 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on December 12, 2017.

## **Committee Members Attending**

- Vice Chair Conway Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Representative Fitzgibbon Beverly Freeman Tracy Guerin
- Bev Hermanson Byron Olson David Schumacher J. Pat Thompson Robert Thurston Representative Volz David Westberg

Vice Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

# (1) APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER MINUTES

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting November* 14, 2017, *Draft Minutes.* 

# (2) DRS BRIEFING: RETROACTIVE IMPACTS

Shawn Merchant, Legislative and Stakeholder Relations Director, Department of Retirement Systems, and Anne Hall, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office, presented.

#### No action taken.

#### (3) PLANS 1 COLA

Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend the current bill draft (Z-6030.2) to the 2018 Legislature.* 

# (4) TRIBAL SCHOOLS: PARTICIPATION IN THE STATE RETIREMENT SYSTEMS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend the current bill draft (Z-6090.1) to the 2018 Legislature.* 

#### Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

\*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

#### **Representative Joe Fitzgibbon**

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

\***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> \*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

**Senator Steve Hobbs** 

\*Representative Matt Manweller, Chair

Boyd McCamish PERS Actives

\*Byron Olson PERS Employers

**Representative Timm Ormsby** 

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher**, Director *Office of Financial Management* 

\***J. Pat Thompson** PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

**Representative Mike Volz** 

David Westberg SERS Actives

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes December 12, 2017 Page 2

# (5) **KATE BOREEN: ELIGIBILITY FOR LEOFF 1 CHILD DISABILITY BENEFITS** Kate Boreen addressed the Committee.

### No action taken.

### The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Dierk Meierbachtol, Legal Services, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction.
Michael Vendiola, Program Supervisor, Office of Native Education, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction.
Mark Jacobson, Quileute Tribal School.
Amy McFarland, Superintendent, Chief Leschi Schools.
Dallas Baker, Seattle Fire Fighters, Local 27.
Dave Peery, Secretary, LEOFF 1 Coalition.
Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF Plan 2 Retirement Board.

The meeting adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

*Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.* 

O:\SCPP\2017\12.12-Full\0.12.12.17-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx