# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 16, 2018 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on October 16, 2018.

# **Committee Members Attending**

- Chair Conway Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Annette Creekpaum Randy Davis Representative Fitzgibbon Beverly Freeman
- Bev Hermanson Seth Miller *for Tracy Guerin* Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler J. Pat Thompson Representative Volz

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m.

## (1) OSA 2019-21 BUDGET

Matt Smith, State Actuary, presented.

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the* 2019-21 OSA budget.

## (2) APPROVAL OF SEPTEMBER MINUTES

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting September 18, 2018, Draft Minutes.* 

## (3) PRELIMINARY 2019 MEETING DATES

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Adopt the 2019 meeting dates as presented.* 

# (4) **3 PERCENT AD-HOC COLA FOR PLANS 1** Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

# (5) PLAN MEMBERSHIP DEFAULT Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

### Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

\*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

\*Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

**Representative Joe Fitzgibbon** 

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

\*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> \*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Leanne Kunze PERS Actives

\*Representative Matt Manweller, Vice Chair

> **Byron Olson** PERS Employers

#### **Representative Timm Ormsby**

Senator Mark Schoesler

**David Schumacher**, Director *Office of Financial Management* 

\***J. Pat Thompson** PERS Actives

> Vacant Retirees

#### **Representative Mike Volz**

Vacant Actives

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u> Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes October 16, 2018 Page 2

# (6) ANNUITY PURCHASE

Corban Nemeth presented.

# No action taken.

# The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Karen Keller, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Cynthia Endicott, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Phillip Meany, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Clair Olivers, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Jim Kresge, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Duane Olson, Washington State School Retirees' Association, Washington Education Association.

Carol Baque, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Don Bunger, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Sally Olson, Washington State School Retirees' Association, Washington Education Association.

Neva Luke, Washington Education Association.

LeeAnn Prielipp, Washington Education Association.

Logan Barr, Association of Washington Cities.

Joanna Standish, Grays Harbor Area President, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Barb Church, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Gail Lurie, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Terry Bergeson, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Diane Roushenberg.

Fred Yancey, Washington Association of School Administrators, Association of Washington School Principals, and Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Julie Salvi, WEA Lobbyist, Washington Education Association.

Peter Diedrick, Legislative Director, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

The meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

*Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.* 

 $O: \verb|SCPP|2018|10.16-Full|0.10.16.18-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx||$