Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING DECEMBER 11, 2018 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on November 13, 2018.

Committee Members Attending

Senator Conway, Chair Senator Hobbs John Boesenberg Leanne Kunze

Randy Davis Anthony Murrietta Representative Fitzgibbon Senator Schoesler

Tracy Guerin Mark Soper

Bev Hermanson

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

(1) MANAGING FUTURE DOLAN-TYPE UNFUNDED LIABILITIES

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(2) RETIRE-REHIRE PROPOSAL

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

At 10:32 a.m., Chair Conway called for a temporary adjournment, due to lack of quorum, until 10:45 a.m. The meeting was called to order at 10:52 a.m.

(3) LEOFF 1 AND PRIOR ACT DISABILITY BOARDS

Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) PERS UNREDUCED RETIREMENT AGE

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, Law Enforcement Officers' and Firefighters' Plan 2 Retirement Board.

Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees, and Public Employees for Pension Responsibility, Chair.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg
PERS/Higher Ed Employers

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

*Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis
TRS Actives

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

Leanne Kunze PERS Actives

*Representative Matt Manweller, Vice Chair

Anthony Murrietta
Actives

Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Mark Soper WSPRS Retirees

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Representative Mike Volz

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes December 11, 2018

Page 2

Julie Salvi, WEA Lobbyist, Washington Education Association.

Fred Yancey, Washington Association of School Administrators, Association of Washington School Principals, and Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Dick Warbrouck, President, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Ken Crowder, Washington State Retired Police Officers' Association.

James A. Fossos, Vice President, Retired Firefighters of Washington.

Joyce Willms, Government Relations and Communications, Law Enforcement Officers' and Firefighters' Plan 1 Coalition.

Bill Dickinson, President, Law Enforcement Officers' and Firefighters' Plan 1 Coalition.

Brandon Anderson, Washington State Jail Association, Vice President; South Correctional Entity.

Ed Shannon, Washington State Jail Association, Past President.

Lisa Shanahan, Washington State Jail Association, President; Pierce County Corrections Guild.

Debra Hopkins, Pierce County Corrections Guild.

Pete Williams, Yakima County.

The meeting adjourned at 12:07 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O: \ \ CPP \ \ 2018 \ \ 12.11-Full \ \ \ 0.12.11.18-Approved. Regular. Minutes. docx$