Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING APRIL 17, 2018 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on April 17, 2018.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Manweller Byron Olson

Vice Chair Conway Representative Ormsby

John Boesenberg Senator Schoesler
Annette Creekpaum David Schumacher
Randy Davis J. Pat Thompson
Beverly Freeman Robert Thurston
Tracy Guerin Representative Volz
Bev Hermanson David Westberg

Chair Manweller called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF DECEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting December 12, 2017, Draft Minutes.

(2) INTERIM KICK OFF

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Conway for Chair.

Senator Conway was unanimously elected as Chair.

Chair Conway chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Manweller for Vice Chair.

Representative Manweller was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg *PERS/Higher Ed Employers*

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum *PERS Employers*

Randy Davis
TRS Actives

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

Beverly Freeman *PERS Employers*

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

*Representative Matt Manweller, Chair

> Boyd McCamish PERS Actives

*Byron Olson PERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

Representative Mike Volz

David Westberg SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate J. Pat Thompson to represent active members.

J. Pat Thompson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Nominate Annette Creekpaum to represent employers.

Annette Creekpaum was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Bev Hermanson to represent retiree members.

Bev Hermanson was unanimously elected.

(4) 2018 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS

Stephanie Roman, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) DRS UPDATE

Tracy Guerin, Director, Department of Retirement Systems, and Jeffrey Knight, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Great-West Financial, presented.

No action taken.

(6) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE

Steve Nelsen, Executive Director, LEOFF 2 Board, presented.

No action taken.

The meeting adjourned at 11:43 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.