Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 15, 2018 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, on May 15, 2018.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Tracy Guerin
Vice Chair Manweller Bev Hermanson

Senator Bailey Representative Ormsby

John BoesenbergSenator SchoeslerAnnette CreekpaumDavid SchumacherRandy DavisJ. Pat ThompsonRepresentative FitzgibbonRobert ThurstonBeverly FreemanDavid Westberg

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF APRIL MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting April 17, 2018, Draft Minutes.

(2) FUNDING METHODS, POLICIES, AND CYCLES

Lisa Won, Deputy State Actuary, and Michael Harbour, Senior Actuarial Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) PLAN MEMBERSHIP DEFAULT

Stephanie Roman, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) SB 6370: PSERS RETIREMENT AGE

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) RETIRE-REHIRE

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg
PERS/Higher Ed Employers

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

*Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

Randy Davis
TRS Actives

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

*Representative Matt Manweller, Vice Chair

> Boyd McCamish PERS Actives

Byron OlsonPERS Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*J. Pat Thompson PERS Actives

Robert Thurston WSPRS Retirees

Representative Mike Volz

David Westberg
SERS Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u> Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes May 15, 2018 Page 2

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees, and Public Employees for Pension Responsibility, Chair.

Peter Diedrick, Legislative Director, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Fred Yancey, Washington Association of School Administrators, Association of Washington School Principals, and Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Seth Miller, Assistant Director, Retirement Services Division, Department of Retirement Systems.

Brent Kirk, City Manager of Granite Falls.

The meeting adjourned at 12:08 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2018\05.15-Full\0.05.15.18-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx