# **Select Committee on Pension Policy**

# REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 19, 2018 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room B, Olympia, Washington, on June 19, 2018.

# **Committee Members Attending**

Chair Conway Senator Bailey John Boesenberg Randy Davis Representative Fitzgibbon Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Byron Olson Representative Ormsby Senator Schoesler J. Pat Thompson Robert Thurston David Westberg

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) PRELIMINARY VALUATION RESULTS Matt Smith, State Actuary, and Luke Masselink, Senior Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

# (2) APPROVAL OF MAY MINUTES

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Regular Committee Meeting May 15, 2018, Draft Minutes.* 

# (3) ANNUITY PRICING AND ACTUARIAL IMPACTS Corban Nemeth, Associate Policy and Data Analyst, presented.

### No action taken.

(4) DRS PROPOSAL: ANNUITY PURCHASE Seth Miller, Assistant Director, Retirement Services Division, Department of Retirement Systems, presented.

### No action taken.

(5) DRS PROPOSAL: MONTH OF DEATH Seth Miller presented.

No action taken.

#### Senator Barbara Bailey

John Boesenberg PERS/Higher Ed Employers

\*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

\*Annette Creekpaum PERS Employers

> Randy Davis TRS Actives

**Representative Joe Fitzgibbon** 

Beverly Freeman PERS Employers

\*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> \*Bev Hermanson PERS Retirees

Senator Steve Hobbs

\*Representative Matt Manweller, Vice Chair

> Boyd McCamish PERS Actives

**Byron Olson** PERS Employers

#### **Representative Timm Ormsby**

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

> \***J. Pat Thompson** PERS Actives

**Robert Thurston** WSPRS Retirees

**Representative Mike Volz** 

David Westberg SERS Actives

\*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/SCPP.htm</u> Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes June 19, 2018 Page 2

(6) DRS PROPOSAL: SPOUSAL CONSENT Seth Miller presented.

No action taken.

# (7) PLAN MEMBERSHIP DEFAULT (SHB 1560)

Stephanie Roman, Associate Policy Analyst, presented.

*It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Revisit the Plan Membership Default bill at a future meeting with new information.* 

# The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Barbara Scott, Health Care Authority.

Fred Yancey, Washington Association of School Administrators, Association of Washington School Principals, and Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Julie Salvi, WEA Lobbyist, Washington Education Association.

Matt Zuvich, Washington Federation of State Employees, and Public Employees for Pension Responsibility, Chair.

The meeting adjourned at 12:11 p.m.

*Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.* 

O:\SCPP\2018\06.19-Full\0.06.19.18-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx