Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING APRIL 19, 2022 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on April 19, 2022.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Stokesbary
Vice Chair Conway
Senator Braun
Annette Creekpaum
Representative Fitzgibbon
Tracy Guerin
Bev Hermanson
Leanne Kunze

Anthony Murrietta Representative Ormsby Senator June Robinson David Schumacher Mark Soper J. Pat Thompson Kathy Thompson Representative Volz

Chair Stokesbary called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on November 16, 2021.

(2) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE

Jacob White, Senior Research and Policy Manager, LEOFF 2 Board, presented.

No action taken.

(3) INTERIM KICK-OFF

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) 2022 LEGISLATIVE HIGHLIGHTS Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

No action taken.

(5) INTERIM PLANNING

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

Vacant *Employers*

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Bev Hermanson Retirees

Leanne Kunze Actives

> Vacant Actives

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Chair

*J. Pat Thompson Actives

Kathy Thompson Employers

Representative Mike Volz

William Zabelka Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(6) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Steve Conway for Chair. Senator Steve Conway *was unanimously elected as Chair.*

Chair Conway chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Drew Stokesbary for Vice Chair. *Representative Drew Stokesbary was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.*

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Reelect existing members to represent active members, retirees, and employers. Nominated J. Pat Thompson to represent active members, Mark Soper to represent retiree members, and Anthony Murrietta to represent employers. They were unanimously elected for their positions.

(7) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Peter Diedrick, Washington State School Retirees Association. Kristine Kraig, Retired Public Employees Council. Helen Shawcroft, Retiree, University of Washington Retirement Association. Debby Lippincott, Chair, Retired Public Employees Council. Fred Yancey, Lobbyist, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

The meeting adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2022\4.19-Full\0.04.19.22-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx