Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 21, 2022 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on June 21, 2022.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway

Vice Chair Stokesbary

Annette Creekpaum

Representative Fitzgibbon

Tracy Guerin

Bev Hermanson

Dan Legard

Anthony Murrietta

Representative Ormsby

Mark Soper

J. Pat Thompson

Kathy Thompson

Representative Volz

Matthew Zuvich

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF MAY MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on May 17, 2022.

(2) PRELIMINARY 2021 ACTUARIAL VALUATION RESULTS Michael Harbour, Actuary, and Sarah Baker, Senior Actuarial

Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) INTERRUPTIVE MILITARY SERVICE CREDIT RECAP

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend the Interrupted Military Service Credit bill draft to the 2023 Legislative Session.

(4) 2008 EARLY RETIREMENT FACTORS RETIRE/REHIRE

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) SCPP GOALS REVIEW

Melinda Aslakson, presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

Bev Hermanson *Retirees*

> Dan Legard Employers

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Vice Chair

*J. Pat Thompson
Actives

Kathy Thompson *Employers*

Representative Mike Volz

William Zabelka Actives

Matthew Zuvich
Actives

Vacant Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711

leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes June 21, 2022 Page 2

(6) PUBLIC COMMENT

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Fred Yancy, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Gloria Smith, Washington Education Association-Retired. John Smith, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington, Chapter 8.

The meeting adjourned at 12:05 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

 $O: \ \ SCPP \ \ \ 2022 \ \ \ 6.21-Full \ \ \ \ \ 0.06.21.22-Approved. Regular. Minutes. docx$