Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 19, 2022 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on July 19, 2022.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Vice Chair Stokesbary Senator Braun Annette Creekpaum Representative Fitzgibbon Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Anthony Murrietta Senator Schoesler Mark Soper J. Pat Thompson Representative Volz Matthew Zuvich Wally Watson

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF JUNE MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on June 21, 2022.

(2) PLANS 1 COLAS: PLANS COMPARISON, MINIMUM BENEFITS, AND DEMOGRAPHIC DATA

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) RATE RECOMMENDATION TO THE PENSION FUNDING COUNCIL

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

Motion 1

It was moved and seconded to: Recommend no change to the current rates from the 2021-2023 Biennium to the Pension Funding Council. *Motion failed.*

Motion 2

It was moved and seconded to: Recommend adopting the Office of the State Actuary's 2023-2025 calculated rates to the Pension Funding Council. *Motion failed.*

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Bev Hermanson Retirees

> > **Dan Legard** *Employers*

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Vice Chair

> *J. Pat Thompson Actives

Kathy Thompson Employers

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

William Zabelka Actives

Matthew Zuvich Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(4) 2008 EARLY RETIREMENT FACTORS RETIRE/REHIRE

Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

It was moved and seconded to: Recommend the proposed Bill Draft to the 2023 Legislature. *Motion failed.*

(5) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Rocco Gianni. Gloria Smith, Retiree, Washington Education Association. Fred Yancey, Lobbyist, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Linda Clifton Fremont. Jan Curtis. Alan Burke, Executive Director, Washington State School Retirees' Association. John Smith, President, Retired Public Employees Council, Chapter 8. Peter Deidrick, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Candice Bock, Association of Washington Cities. Claire Olivers, Treasurer, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

The meeting adjourned at 12:18 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2022\7.19-Full\0.07.19.22-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx