Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING SEPTEMBER 20, 2022 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on September 20, 2022.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Anthony Murrietta
Vice Chair Stokesbary Representative Ormsby

Senator Braun Senator Robinson Annette Creekpaum Senator Schoesler

Representative Fitzgibbon Mark Soper

Tracy Guerin J. Pat Thompson
Bev Hermanson Wally Watson
Dan Legard Matthew Zuvich

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF JULY MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on July 19, 2022.

(2) DRS CEM BENCHMARKING

Mark Feldhausen, Budget and Performance Management Director, Department of Retirement Systems and Franco Wang, Relationship Manager, CEM Benchmarking, presented.

No action taken.

(3) UPDATE ON PFC RATE ADOPTION

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) PLANS 1 COLAS: SB 5698 COLA ACTUARIAL FISCAL NOTE AND COLA OPTIONS

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) SCPP GOALS FOLLOW UP

Melinda Aslakson, presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

Bev Hermanson Retirees

Dan Legard *Employers*

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Vice Chair

*J. Pat Thompson
Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson
Actives

William Zabelka Actives

Matthew Zuvich
Actives

Vacant Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(6) PSERS ELIGIBILITY FOR PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS

Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

No action taken.

(7) 2008 EARLY RETIREMENT FACTORS RETIRE/REHIRE

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Recommend the proposed bill draft to the 2023 Legislature.

(8) PUBLIC COMMENT

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Lisa Won, Deputy State Actuary, Office of the State Actuary.

John Smith, President, Retired Public Employees Council, Chapter 8.

Jon Ferguson.

Laurie Weidner, Executive Director, Retired Public Employees Council.

Richard Washington.

Kandy Kraig, President, Retired Public Employees Council.

Alma-Jean Marion, Retired Public Employees Council.

Mary Lindsey, President, Washington Education Association.

Gloria Smith, Retiree, Washington Education Association.

Kip Scannell, King County Sherriff's Office.

Erica Brown, King County Sherriff's Office.

Fred Yancey, Lobbyist, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Kristine Kraig, Retired Public Employees Council.

Katy Myers, President, Washington Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials National Emergency Number Association

The meeting adjourned at 12:42 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.

O:\SCPP\2022\9.20-Full\0.09.20.22-Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx