Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 18, 2022 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on October 18, 2022.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Representative Ormsby

Vice Chair Stokesbary Senator Robinson Senator Braun Senator Schoesler Annette Creekpaum David Schumacher

Representative Fitzgibbon Mark Soper

Bev Hermanson J. Pat Thompson

Dan Legard Mike Volz
Seth Miller for Tracy Guerin Wally Watson
Anthony Murrietta Matthew Zuvich

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF SEPTEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on September 20, 2022.

(2) ANNUAL OSA UPDATE

Matt Smith, State Actuary, Office of the State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(3) PRELIMINARY 2023 MEETING DATES

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) PLANS 1 COLA PROPOSAL

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) PSERS ELIGIBILITY FOR PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS

Aaron Gutierrez, presented. Senator Van De Wege provided support for possible legislation.

No action taken.

(6) PUBLIC COMMENT

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum *Employers*

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Bev Hermanson Retirees

> > **Dan Legard** *Employers*

*Anthony Murrietta
Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Vice Chair

*J. Pat Thompson
Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

William Zabelka Actives

Matthew Zuvich
Actives

Vacant *Employers*

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711

leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Fred Yancy, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Gloria Smith, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Mary Lindsey, President, Washington Education Association-Retired.

John Smith, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington, Chapter 8.

James Shepherd.

David Peeler.

Clair Olivers, President, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Kristine Kraig, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

Sharon White, Washington Education Association-Retired.

(Zona) Gail Spaeth, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington, Chapter 13.

Candice Bock, Association of Washington Cities.

Gretchen McDevitt.

Lois Danks, Recording Secretary, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington, Chapter 23.

Lee Ann Prelipp, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Nancy Heley, Secretary, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Thomas Garrad, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Bing Bristol, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Julie Winchell, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Jean Santos.

Aruna Bhuta, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Laurie Weidner, Executive Director, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington. Connie Greenidge.

Carolyn Boatsman, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Katy Myers, President, Washington Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials National Emergency Number Association.

Jason Fritz, Vice President, Washington Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials National Emergency Number Association.

Karl Hatton, Washington Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials National Emergency Number Association.

Richard Kirton, APCO Treasurer, Washington Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials National Emergency Number Association.

The meeting adjourned at 12:24 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.