Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 17, 2022 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met remotely, on May 17, 2022.

Committee Members Attending

Chair Conway Anthony Murrietta
Vice Chair Stokesbary Representative Ormsby
Senator Braun Senator June Robinson

Annette Creekpaum Mark Soper

Representative Fitzgibbon J. Pat Thompson
Tracy Guerin Kathy Thompson
Leanne Kunze Representative Volz

Dan Legard

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) OPMA REFRESHER

Tor Jernudd, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office, presented.

No action taken.

(2) APPROVAL OF APRIL MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on April 19, 2022.

(3) 2008 EARLY RETIREMENT FACTORS RETIRE/REHIRE

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) HOW ARE COLAS CALCULATED?

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) PUBLIC COMMENT

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Gloria Smith, Washington Education Association-Retired. Fred Yancey, Washington State School Retirees' Association. John Smith, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington, Chapter 8. **Vacant** Actives

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Vice Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> Bev Hermanson Retirees

Leanne Kunze
Actives

Dan Legard Employers

*Anthony Murrietta
Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

Senator Mark Schoesler

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

*Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Chair

> *J. Pat Thompson Actives

Kathy Thompson *Employers*

Representative Mike Volz

William Zabelka Actives

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP Regular Committee Meeting Approved Minutes May 17, 2022 Page 2

> Jim Davison. Warren Warfield. Mary Wallon.

The meeting adjourned at 12:07 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings page</u>, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>www.tvw.org</u>.