Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING June 20, 2023 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and remotely on June 20, 2023.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Conway Vice Chair Stokesbary Annette Creekpaum Tracy Guerin Representative Fitzgibbon Bev Hermanson Dan Legard Senator MacEwen Anthony Murrietta Representative Ormsby Mark Soper J. Pat Thompson Wally Watson Michael Yestramski

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF DECEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on December 13, 2022.

The Regular Committee Meeting Minutes were approved as final.

(2) INTERIM KICK-OFF

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) 2023 LEGISLATIVE SESSION HIGHLIGHTS Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

No action taken.

(4) INTERIM PLANNING Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum Employers

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

***Tracy Guerin, Director** Department of Retirement Systems

> Bev Hermanson Retirees

Dan Legard Employers

Senator Drew MacEwen

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

> *Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Vice Chair

***J. Pat Thompson** Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

> Vacant Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 <u>leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP</u>

(5) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Melinda Aslakson, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Delay the Chair and Vice Chair election until the July meeting.

Nominations for Executive Committee

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate J. Pat Thompson to represent active members.

J. Pat Thompson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Bev Hermanson to represent retiree *members.*

Bev Hermanson was unanimously elected.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Anthony Murietta to represent employers.

Anthony Murietta was unanimously elected.

(6) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Clair Olivers, President, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington. Fred Yancey, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Alan Burke, Executive Director, Washington State School Retirees Association.

The meeting adjourned at 11:19 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>https://tvw.org/</u>.

O:\SCPP\2023\6.20-Full\0.06.20.23.Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx