Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING JULY 18, 2023 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and remotely on July 18, 2023.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Conway Anthony Murrietta
Vice Chair Stokesbary Representative Ormsby

Annette Creekpaum Senator Robinson

Representative Fitzgibbon Mark Soper

Tracy Guerin J. Pat Thompson
Bev Hermanson Representative Volz

Senator MacEwen Wally Watson

Chair Conway called the meeting to order at 10:03 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF JUNE MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on June 20, 2023.

The Regular Committee Meeting Minutes were approved as final.

(2) ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Nomination for Chair

It was moved and seconded: Nominate Representative Fitzgibbon for Chair.

Representative Fitzgibbon was unanimously elected as Chair.

Chair Fitzgibbon chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair

It was moved and seconded: Nominate Senator MacEwen for Vice Chair.

Senator MacEwen was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

(3) OSA ANNUAL UPDATE

Matthew Smith, State Actuary, Office of the State Actuary presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

*Senator Steve Conway, Chair

Annette Creekpaum *Employers*

Representative Joe Fitzgibbon

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

*Bev Hermanson Retirees

Dan Legard *Employers*

Senator Drew MacEwen

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Mark Soper Retirees

*Representative Drew Stokesbary, Vice Chair

*J. Pat Thompson
Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

> **Vacant** Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135

TDD: 711

leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(4) LEOFF 2 BOARD ANNUAL UPDATE

Jacob White, Senior Research and Policy Manager, LEOFF 2 Board presented.

No action taken.

(5) WSP RETENTION: PANEL DISCUSSION

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Senator Marko Liias.

Senator Curtis King.

John Batiste, Chief, Washington State Patrol.

Spike Unruh, President, Washington State Patrol Troopers' Association.

(6) DRS PROPOSAL ON PUBLIC RECORDS EXEMPTIONS FOR RETIREES

Shawn Merchant, Director of Legislative and Community Relations, DRS, and George Pickett, Director of Risk Management, DRS, presented.

No action taken.

(7) PLANS 1 COLA STUDY: INITIAL CONTEXT

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(8) PUBLIC COMMENT

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Alan Burke, Executive Director, Washington State School Retirees Association.

Gloria Smith, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Clair Olivers, President, Retired Public Employees' Council of Washington.

The meeting adjourned at 11:56 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at https://tvw.org/.