Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING SEPTEMBER 19, 2023 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and remotely on September 19, 2023.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Fitzgibbon Vice Chair MacEwen Senator Braun Senator Conway Annette Creekpaum Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Dan Legard Anthony Murrietta Representative Ormsby Senator Robinson Mark Soper Representative Stokesbary J. Pat Thompson Wally Watson Michael Yestramski

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF JULY MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on July 18, 2023.

The Regular Committee Meeting Minutes were approved as final.

(2) REPORT ON FINANCIAL CONDITION Frank Serra, Senior Actuarial Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(3) STATE ACTUARY'S RECOMMENDATION ON LONG-TERM ECONOMIC ASSUMPTIONS

Matt Smith, State Actuary, and Frank Serra, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend adopting the state actuary's long-term economic assumptions to the Pension Funding Council.

(4) WSP RETENTION

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum Employers

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson Retirees

> > Dan Legard Employers

*Senator Drew MacEwen, Vice Chair

> *Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Mark Soper Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

*J. Pat Thompson Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

> Vacant Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(5) KITSAP TRANSIT PUGET SOUND NAVAL SHIPYARD OPERATORS EXEMPTION Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(6) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Davor Gjurasic, Washington State Patrol Troopers Association. Paul Shinners, Finance Director, Kitsap Transit. Robert Driskell, Secretary-Treasurer, Teamster Local 589. Chris Briggs, Partner, Employee Benefits practice section, Stoel Rives LLP.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>https://tvw.org/</u>.

O:\SCPP\2023\9.19-Full\0.09.19.23.Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx