Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 <u>state.actuary@leg.wa.gov</u>

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 17, 2023 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and remotely on October 17, 2023.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Fitzgibbon Anthony Murrietta
Vice Chair MacEwen Representative Ormsby

Senator Braun Senator Robinson

Senator Conway Representative Stokesbary

Annette Creekpaum J. Pat Thompson Tracy Guerin Representative Volz

Bev Hermanson Wally Watson

Dan Legard Michael Yestramski

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:00 am.

(1) APPROVAL OF SEPTEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on September 19, 2023.

The Regular Committee Meeting Minutes were approved as final.

(2) PRELIMINARY 2024 MEETING DATES

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved, seconded and carried to: Approve the Preliminary 2024 meetings dates.

(3) MONTH OF DEATH

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(4) PLANS 1 AD HOC COLA

Melinda Aslakson presented.

No action taken.

(5) WSP RETENTION

Aaron Gutierrez presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum Employers

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

*Tracy Guerin, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson Retirees

> > Dan Legard
> > Employers

*Senator Drew MacEwen, Vice Chair

> *Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Mark Soper Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

*J. Pat Thompson
Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson
Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

Vacant *Employers*

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711

leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(6) DSHS PSERS PROPASAL

Melinda Aslakson presented.

No action taken.

(7) PUBLIC COMMENT

(8) KITSAP TRANSIT LEGAL ADVICE

The Committee met in a closed executive session in accordance with the Revised Code of Washington 42.30.110(1)(i).

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Shawn Merchant, Legislative & Community Relations Director, Department of Retirement Systems.

David Iseminger, Director, Employees and Retirees Benefits Division, Health Care Authority.

Gloria Smith, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Laurie Weidner, Executive Director, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Clair Olivers, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington.

Mary Lindsey, President, Washington Education Association-Retired.

Fred Yancey, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Spike Unruh, President, Washington State Patrol Troopers Association.

The meeting adjourned at 12:26 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at https://tvw.org/.

O:\SCPP\2023\10.17-Full\0.10.17.23.Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx