Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING NOVEMBER 14, 2023 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and remotely on November 14, 2023.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Fitzgibbon Vice Chair MacEwen Senator Conway Annette Creekpaum Tracy Guerin Bev Hermanson Dan Legard Representative Ormsby Senator Robinson Mark Soper J. Pat Thompson Wally Watson Michael Yestramski

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF OCTOBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on October 17, 2023.

(2) MONTH OF DEATH

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend the bill is moved forward to the 2024 Legislature.

(3) PLANS 1 AD HOC COLA OPTIONS

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Recommend Option 2 to the 2024 Legislature.

(4) WSIB ANNUAL UPDATE

Allyson Tucker, Chief Executive Officer, Washington State Investment Board, presented.

No action taken.

(5) WSP RETENTION

Aaron Gutierrez, presented.

The Committee discussed options presented and chose to refer staff analysis to the Transportation committees.

Senator John Braun

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum Employers

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson Retirees

> > **Dan Legard** *Employers*

*Senator Drew MacEwen, Vice Chair

> *Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Mark Soper Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

*J. Pat Thompson Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

> Vacant Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(6) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Peter Diedrick, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Eileen Prefrement, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Patricia McLachlan, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Fred Yancey, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Clair Olivers, President, Retired Public Employees Council of Washington. Gloria Smith, Washington Education Association-Retired. Lee Ann Prielipp, Washington Education Association-Retired.

The meeting adjourned at 11:27 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>https://tvw.org/</u>.

O:\SCPP\2023\11.14-Full\0.11.14.23.Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx