Select Committee on Pension Policy

P.O. Box 40914 Olympia, WA 98504-0914 state.actuary@leg.wa.gov

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING DECEMBER 12, 2023 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and remotely on December 12, 2023.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Fitzgibbon Representative Ormsby

Vice Chair MacEwen Senator Robinson

Senator Braun Mark Soper

Senator Conway Representative Stokesbary

Annette Creekpaum J. Pat Thompson
Tracy Guerin Representative Volz

Bev Hermanson Wally Watson

Anthony Murrietta Michael Yestramski

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on November 14, 2023.

(2) DRS CEM BENCHMARKING

Mark Feldhausen, Budget and Performance Management Director, DRS, presented.

No action taken.

(3) DRS ANNUAL UPDATE

Tracy Guerin, Director, DRS, presented.

No action taken.

(4) 2024 SESSION PREP

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(5) SCPP STUDY: ONGOING PLANS 1 COLA

Melinda Aslakson, Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

Senator John Braun

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum Employers

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

*Tracy Guerin, Director
Department of Retirement Systems

*Bev Hermanson Retirees

Dan Legard *Employers*

*Senator Drew MacEwen, Vice Chair

> *Anthony Murrietta Employers

Representative Timm Ormsby

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director Office of Financial Management

Mark Soper Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

*J. Pat Thompson Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson
Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

> **Vacant** *Employers*

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711

leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP

(6) KITSAP TRANSIT PUGET SOUND NAVAL SHIPYARD OPERATORS EXEMPTION

Melinda Aslakson, presented.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Endorse the Draft Bill for the 2024 Legislative Session

(7) PUBLIC COMMENT

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Paul Shinners, Financial Director, Kitsap Transit.

John Clauson, Executive Director, Kitsap Transit.

Robert Driskell, Principal Officer, International Brotherhood of Teamsters Local 589.

Peter Diedrick, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

Fred Yancy, Washington State School Retirees' Association.

The meeting adjourned at 11:48 a.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at https://tvw.org/.

 $O:\SCPP\2023\12.12$ -Full\0.12.12.23.Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx