Select Committee on Pension Policy

REGULAR COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 21, 2024 APPROVED MINUTES

The Select Committee on Pension Policy met in House Hearing Room A, Olympia, Washington, and virtually on May 21, 2024.

Committee Members Attending:

Chair Fitzgibbon
Senator Boehnke
Senator Conway
Annette Creekpaum
Tracy Guerin
Bev Hermanson
Dan Legard
Representative Macri

Anthony Murrietta Senator Robinson Mark Soper Representative Stokesbary J. Pat Thompson Wally Watson Michael Yestramski

Chair Fitzgibbon called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

(1) APPROVAL OF APRIL MINUTES

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Approve the Draft Minutes for the Regular Committee Meeting on April 16, 2024.

(2) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Aaron Gutierrez, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

Nomination for Chair

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Senator Boehnke for Chair.

The Committee took a recess from 10:08 a.m. until 10:21 a.m.

Chair Boehnke chaired the rest of the meeting.

Nomination for Vice Chair It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Representative Fitzgibbon for Vice Chair.

Nominations for Executive Committee It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate J. Pat Thompson to represent active members.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Bev *Hermanson to represent retiree members.*

Senator Matt Boehnke

Senator Steve Conway

Annette Creekpaum Employers

*Representative Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair

***Tracy Guerin**, Director Department of Retirement Systems

> *Bev Hermanson Retirees

Dan Legard Employers

*Senator Drew MacEwen, Vice Chair

Representative Nicole Macri

*Anthony Murrietta Employers

Senator June Robinson

David Schumacher, Director *Office of Financial Management*

Mark Soper Retirees

Representative Drew Stokesbary

*J. Pat Thompson Actives

Representative Mike Volz

Wally Watson Actives

Michael Yestramski Actives

William Zabelka Actives

> Vacant Employers

*Executive Committee

(360) 786-6140 Fax: (360) 586-8135 TDD: 711 leg.wa.gov/JointCommittees/SCPP It was moved, seconded, and carried to: Nominate Anthony Murrietta to represent employers.

All five nominees were unanimously elected for their positions.

(3) LEOFF 2 BOARD UPDATE

Jacob White, Senior Research & Policy Manager, LEOFF 2 Board, presented.

No action taken.

(4) OSA UPDATE Matthew Smith, State Actuary, presented.

No action taken.

(5) PLANS 1 ONGOING COLA STUDY Melinda Aslakson, Senior Policy Analyst, presented.

No action taken.

(6) **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following non-members addressed the Committee:

Fred Yancy, Washington State School Retirees' Association. Phyllis Farrell, Washington Education Association-Retired Member. Gloria Smith, Retiree.

The meeting adjourned at 11:54 p.m.

Recorded audio of SCPP Full and Executive Committee meetings can be found on the <u>SCPP Meetings</u> page, free of charge. <i>The audio, and occasionally video, of Full Committee meetings can also be found at <u>https://tvw.org/</u>.

 $O: \verb|SCPP|2024|5.21-Full|0.05.21.24.Approved.Regular.Minutes.docx|$