Capitol Furnishings

​Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee

The Capitol Furnishings & Preservation Committee is seeking donations to support the relocation of the historic Beall mural into the recently opened Helen Sommers Building. Donations may be made to:

Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee
c/o Washington State Historical Society
Ms. Lissa Kramer, Treasurer
1911 Pacific Avenue
Tacoma, Washington 98402

Photo of Capitol GroupThe Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee was formed in 1999 by statute “to promote and encourage the recovery and preservation of the original and historic furnishings of the state capitol group” as envisioned by architects Wilder and White. The Capitol Group includes the Legislative Building, Insurance Building, Temple of Justice, John A. Cherberg Building, John L. O'Brien Building and Irving Newhouse Building.

More about the Committee ...

Mark Your Calendars! The annual Founder's Day Silent Auction and Reception in February to support restoration efforts, February 18, 2020. Reservations accepted through Wednesday, February 12, 2020


“To promote and encourage the recovery and preservation of original and historic furnishings within the State Capitol Group for the enjoyment of future generations.”

Image of chair with question marksDo you know of any furnishings you think might be original to the capitol campus? We are seeking lost treasures.


HOW YOU CAN HELP  Details of where you can purchase gifts, locate items for preservation, or donate to support the work of the Capitol Furnishings Preservation Committee