Past Presidents of the Senate - Lieutenant Governors of Washington State


Picture of the Lt. Governor's sealThe Lieutenant Governor of Washington is the President of the Senate, and serves the state as acting governor in the absence of the Governor. The Lieutenant Governor, first in line of ascension, is elected to a four-year term, which coincides with the terms of the President of the United States.

Since the beginning of statehood, 16 officials have served in this important state office. Three have ascended on the death of the elected Governor.

Before Washington became a state on November 11, 1889, ten men served as Territorial Secretary of State and held the responsibility to act in the absence of the elected governor, but did not have right of ascension.

Select the links to view photos and short bios of the people who have served during the history of the Office of Lieutenant Governor:

Official Duties: As excerpted from the Washington State Constitution:

ARTICLE III, SECTION 16, Lieutenant Governor, Duties... "The Lieutenant Governor shall be presiding officer of the State Senate, and shall discharge such other duties as may be prescribed by law..."